Hi all, I am a single mum of Two Ava-May (7) and Ryin (4). I have a split access with my ex resulting in children living with me one week and their dad the next. So each week is totally different esp depending how much of their dad they have seen. I love being outdoor and often found with camera which used to be a side-line job, now just a hobby and stress reliever. I also love being creative with wooden pallets and baking yum.

I am a full time Ofsted registered Childminder offer families local to flexible and affordable childcare. Allowing families to follow their own dream careers by offering shift patters, overnight, early and late days and even weekend childcare. I work from my own home and service two local schools. Providing quality childcare, trips and fun. I am providing childcare from birth to 14 years.

I started my business 3 years ago as thought marriage breakdown I was financially forced back into nursery work however no settings would allow shift children, so I was paying full time places for part time childcare, as well as looking after my own children… so paying out far too much. I released that there had to be a further needs more than just myself who may need shift patterns considered so took the leap and started looking after children from home to find out the needs were a lot greater than expected.

I enjoy what I do because I get to see more of my own children and support them on their educational journey attending all assemblies etc without needing to book off time. I am able to offer 6 regular families with childcare for them to follow their dream and several other families’ flexible school holiday care. Also knowing the families are going to be able to manage childcare bills as they only pay for what use and no hidden extra costs or unknow rises during holidays or trips.

My biggest challenges are spaces, the demand for this type of childcare is increasing and due to 2 children myself and Ofsted restrictions I am limited to how many can access my services per day.

I am currently researching into expansion and developing a wrap around club to cater for growing needs due to demand from schools I cater, this will also free up spaces at home to be able to offer more families with younger children care from home setting too.

I have been a member of Bizmums for 4 years, started with my other ventures. I love the networking opportunities the like minded ladies who area always there for support etc, as a single mum and living 300miles away from family they are a great sauce of personal support for myself and also through recommendations and other member further support legally throught my divorce and court times over the children.

Steph Brown
stephs childminding services and Younique presenter


Download Bizmums Top Tips For Networking

You have Successfully Subscribed!